In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that spending a huge budget on building fast intercity trains is necessary for some nations to support travellers who travel a long distance for a shorter time. Meanwhile, others believe the authority should prioritize existing public transportation first and this essay agrees with this statement. The citizens need a sufficient number of mass transit and cheaper options. On the one hand, the construction of new fast trains allows the public to have a shorter time to reach other cities. This new railway enables trains to travel at a faster speed, giving a better experience to individuals who value their time. For example, Indonesia built Whoosh, a fast railway connecting Jakarta and Bandung, cutting travelling time from around 2 hours by regular train to just 30 minutes to reach the suburb of Bandung. Since the beginning, this new public transport attracted many folks, especially those who work in Jakarta and are willing to come home to Bandung. On the other hand, allocating a huge budget to enhance existing public transportation is believed to be wiser because the existing facilities have been effective for the routes. These modes were built decades ago and have direct access to the centre of the city, hence travelling becomes more efficient. It can be seen from Woosh in Indonesia; people opt to buy a regular intercity train ticket because it can reach the heart of Bandung City. Woosh construction cannot reach the inner city because of the dense buildings and weighing on some aspects, the newly built trains only can reach the suburban area. Adding another transport expense for individuals who want to reach their destinations in the centre of Bandung. In conclusion, some believe the development of the new high-speed train serves a better and shorter travelling time. However, this essay believes that investing a large amount of budget to improve existing mass transportation will be more effective considering its strategic routes to the centre of the city and cheaper ticket prices.