Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Mobile phones have become integral part of the lives of human beings.In present day and age, a multitude of people are sticking to their mobile devices and spending most of their spare time with it. The aim of this essay is to review the causes for this addiction and analyse whether this is beneficial or not. The fundamnetal cause for the population getting glued to their phones is lack of companions.That means in this busy world, no one is free and have mere time to talk and mingle with others. Hence, individuals are getting solace through these digital devices. Secondly, the applications in these devices make them addcited and consume their time. For example, social media websites like Whatsapp and Facebook contain a lot of information and the folks continuously check the messages from their friends and spend a lot of time there. Therefore, human beings are getting too much engaged with these smart phones. Even though people are able to mingle with their friends and share a lot of infromation, they are facing a lot of health problems due to this increased screen time. For instance, human eyes are so sentive and the blue light that comes from the mobile is not all good for our eyes and a worldwide research has shown that morethan five hours of engagement to a digital device in a day can severly impact the retina of the eye. Therefore, people should restrict their time with these gadgets. To conclude, the essay has discussed the reasons behind the habit of over using the phone in the people and had also outlined the drawbacks of the usage.Overall, this practice is shown to give more negative impact on the humans health.