Most of world’s problems are caused by over population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the surplus of population is the reason for the majority of problems we are facing today. I agree with this statement to some extend, but I would argue that being overpopulated is the only cause. On the one hand, the explosion of the population does bring tremendous problems such as pollution and the shortage of resources. Firstly, the amount of waste produced by human activities is going out of control, resulting in enormous pollution to the environment. The quality of air is getting worse while forests that are helpful for this are being replaced with cities or farm lands. Secondly, in countries with large population and relatively less land, governments also decided take advantage of habitats of wild animals for human benefits, causing the contradiction between mankind and the nature. Finally, with the limitation of resources, such as petrol and oil, wars may be arisen in order to acquire more resources. On the other hand, the increasing population should not be blamed for all problems while there may be other fundamental factors. One issue we should not ignore is that in many countries, what the governments are facing is the insufficient workforce due to lower population. Canada, for example, is one of those countries that are frustrated with the lack of residents. Even in countries like China, whom is the most populous country in the world today, is confronted with the threats of lack of labor in rural areas, given that young people all move to cities in search of better education and working opportunities. In other words, what is behind the population explosion is usually the imbalance of development and resources between urban and suburb. In conclusion, although the growing population does contribute to many problem nowadays, I would say the essence of the issue is how governments establish policy to allocate the resources to facilitate the reasonable distribution of population.