Many people say that human society has developed into a “throw-away” society, which is filled with plastic bags and rubbish. What are the causes and solutions?

Nowadays, people produce more waste than ever, as they have become accustomed to a “throw-away” lifestyle. And it’s become worst as they generate wastes which are difficult to dispose of due to their non-degradable nature. Firstly, due to the convenience of using disposable plastic items and their lower costs, lots of people prefer to use these kinds of products, as they believe that these items are more efficient and hygienic. For instance, a study conducted by Cambridge University revealed that plastic bags are often used once and end up clogging the land and polluting the water causing about 100,00 animals deaths each year. In addition, another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is over-packaging. Packaging has become an important part of selling. Therefore, producers put a lot of effort into packaging their products in order to attract consumers. Most packages are made in plastics, which are non-degradable materials and cannot be degraded in hundreds of years. However, to resolve the issue, we could adapt the habits of purchasing eco-friendly friendly products. For example, instead of buying mineral water that is packed in a plastic bottle, we could use a glass bottle that can be repeatedly used. In terms of recycling, the glass bottle is easier than the plastic one and safer for human’s health as well. Another possible solution could be to use a biodegradable paper bag or a permanent bag as a substitution for plastic bags. Finally, governments should put legal limits on over-packaging and encourage producers to use environmental-friendly materials. In conclusion, consumer society and over-packaging have led to this throw-away society. Both individuals and governments should take the responsibility to reduce the amount of waste and save the earth