It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces like squares and parks, do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that building large public spaces is essential for towns and cities. I agree with this statement. The primary reason is that these types of spaces could contribute to interpersonal skills and creativity. It is common to see that public space, such as parks or squares, provides a transition space between home and workplace for people. For example, if people could meet with others frequently, this will create more opportunities for communicating with others from various backgrounds. When we are exposed to different thoughts and behaviours, we will know that such differences are norms and respect them. Therefore, we could learn to stand in other person’s shoes, which can cultivate our empathy, enhancing our social skills. Moreover, when we are instiled with various knowledge, such breadth of knowledge may inspire us to connect unrelated information, contributing to some original ideas. Eventually, our creative thinking skills will be gradually improved. Another reason is related to a healthy perspective. It is undeniable that participating in physical activities is good for health. Since public space contains spaces used for exercising, it could stimulate and attract more people to do physical training like jogging, enhancing their immune system. For example, when an epidemic occurs, they are less likely to be infected than those who rarely work out. Furthermore, except for exercise, such public spaces can offer people spaces to relax, alleviating some mental diseases such as depression caused by a heavy workload. In conclusion, the public space is crucial as it could benefit people ’s social lives and physical and mental health.