Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

In this day and age, the consumerism process has become a famous attitude for a wide range of people when they have a fun time which reflects the drastic change that happened to society shopping behaviour, and the popularity of shopping patterns as well. Moreover, this developed customer awareness has dramatically generated enormous negative effects on individuals and societies as well. In the beginning, online shopping websites have been changing the purchase culture not only to be easier but also to be more convenient. This means that when people spend a lot of time accessing these online shopping centres, the more they will purchase. For instance, Cairo University for marketing and commercials conducted a study asserting that Amazon sales are vigorously decreased when the users lessen their time on their site. Hence, what can be said is the revolution of internet amenities has exaggerated the popularity of customer consumption. Furthermore, the effect of this popular act on individuals is wastage. There are more wants than needs purchased. On the other hand, it is an advantage to the seller but the outcome for society at large is negative. People who shop in excess end up not making of use all they shopped for. For example, clothing, many of these clothes end up in the charity shop where they are sold at a lesser price, and some end up being disposed. In conclusion, an increase in shopping as a result of being less busy has been that it is due to the various reasons for shopping and causes wastage at large which leads to a negative