Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Show essays »

Nowadays, shopping has become more popular than ever. Some people believe that it has negative effects on individuals and societies, while others think it has positive impacts too. This essay discusses the reasons for increasing shopping and explores the negative and positive effects of it on individuals and societies. Shopping has become more popular these days for several reasons. Firstly, the shopping malls have grown and become more interesting by adding new sections like restaurants and playhouses. With these changes, they have become a place for shopping, gathering, eating, and spending time, which makes the places more popular. Secondly, some people believe that shopping decreases the stress level and could bring happiness. Finally, producing a variety of unnecessary products makes shopping more popular. The increasing popularity of shopping has different positive and negative effects on societies. Small and big businesses grow with the Increasing popularity of shopping, which leads to economic growth. Also, it has negative impacts too. consumerism has been made by the increasing popularity of shopping, which leads to environmental problems. Additionally, it has different effects on individuals. Although it might help with decreasing the level of stress, it can be addictive. For instance, one of my friends is addicted to shopping. It not only causes financial problems for her but also causes mental health problems. Now she has to take some medications. In conclusion, by growing shopping malls, and the variety of unnecessary products, shopping has become more and more popular. Apart from its positive effects, it has several negative impacts on societies such as consumerism and environmental problems. Additionally, it could be addictive and harm individuals too.