University students are increasingly studying abroad as a part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more university students opt for overseas study as part of their studies. Studying abroad contributes great training to their life. Also, overseas study provides an opportunity for them to widen their horizon. Although it is sometimes costly, it still worth a try. Firstly, studying abroad is a precious moment for university students to feel about the foreign culture which cannot purely learn from textbooks. Topics related to the culture, for example, European and Nordic culture, are just texts and pictures. Students who are interested in such aspects can apply what they have learnt in textbooks when they study in other countries. As a result, studying abroad enhance student’s knowledge mentioned in the reference book. Secondly, overseas studying gives students chances of practice so as to widen their horizons. Students who study foreign languages, namely Spanish and Portuguese, lack practice time when living in their own countries. Once they were living in other countries, they easily utilise what they have learned such that they can jump out of their comfort zone. Moreover, a number of subjects, like Information Technology and Engineering, always require students to absorb sufficient job experience before graduation. Students can apply for internships during their overseas studies. Thus, the provision of great job experience and practice stemmed from studying abroad. However, someone may argue overseas study costs more than expected. Since there are usually grants or sponsorship for students to apply, there will not be any financial burden for students to study abroad. In conclusion, university students benefit from the precious overseas background and widen their horizons when they studying abroad. In my opinion, the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages.