Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In today's world, it is considered by some part of a population that hosting international sports event is beneficial for the country, while others disagree with this opinion. Firstly, this essay will discuss apossible possible increase in trade and, secondly, it will analyse how costly this can be and what effect it may have on the economic activity. To begin with, on the one hand, the organisation of sports events in the home country has a lot of advantages, namely an increase in trade. This is due to the fact that, not only sports fans are likely to purchase a lot of stuff since they have overwhelming emotions, but also they will have to pay for accommodation and food. Therefore, there are likely to be more financial transactions in the economy and it is likely to increase the consumption and, hence, the gross domestic product is also likely to rise what, in turn,will lead to economic growth and this is great for the country. For instance, after Ukraine has hosted the World Cup its economy began to flourish faster. However, on the other hand, this approach may lead to extremely high costs and it may force the government to spend more money from the budget. This is because of the fact that an organisation of a large-scale events requires considerable preparation and a huge investment. Therefore, if government spends more it can lead to a budget deficit what, in turn, means that the state spending exceeds its tax revenue and it will harm the economy. For instance, for a small developing country an organisation of a sports event may lead to harmful consequences and it will take a long period of time to renew the economy and its resources. Eventually, to conlude, in my opinion, it is beneficial for the country to host an international sports events since it may bring more money into the economy. However, it depends on the initial economic activity and whether the country's current resources allow to invest huge amounts of money.