Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe our time's most pressing environmental issue is the decrease of some flora and fauna, whereas others think that there are more urgent issues at hand. While I agree that the loss of plant and animal species is a problem, I firmly believe that there are more significant environmental issues. This essay will shed some light on both views. The shrinking numbers of animals and plants are certainly an issue of grave concern. Unfortunately, due to habitat loss and, more generally, humans dominating the natural world, animals and plants are forced to adapt or perish. For example, one might look at the bee: colonies worldwide have suffered dramatic declines as pesticides and a drop of flora have affected the bee population. While the loss of plant species and animals is an important issue that should not be neglected, it is not the world's most pressing. More urgent issues are, however, at hand. Global warming is one problem that will affect every living thing sooner or later if humans don't act quickly. Countless examples are at hand almost daily: changing weather, floods, melting ice caps, severe heat, and resulting bushfires are globally on the rise. In addition, pollution is a significant factor for the climate change we are witnessing and also contributes to the decrease of plants and animals. To summarise, it becomes clear that both views are intrinsically linked. The bigger problem – climate change – is related to more minor issues like diminishing flora and fauna. So I think we need to tackle the big problem to save plants and animals from extinction.