In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is certainly true that in many parts of the world, plastic bags are the main reason contributing to pollution on land and water and therefore, they should be banned. I have given my justification below. Plastic bags are the most used type of bags due to its low cost and easy availability. However, they should be banned or lessened as they are being used in an unnatural way. People get these bags at a huge amount in daily life and later throw them in the garbage or trash. Furthermore, all the garbage is then taken to private industries that again dunk half of it into rivers and oceans. Later, these companies even burn the garbage the wrong way which leads to huge amount of air pollution also. The University of Delhi,in India, conducted a study that tells us that in the last year, over 1,000 tonnes of plastic rubbish was generated from just the state of Gujarat alone. Therefore, it is obvious that plastic waste should be banned in certain countries where the amount of waste produced by humans is too high. The government should create campaigns and authorities that reduce the production of plastic shopping bags and encourage the manufacturing and use of paper bags. This is because paper bags are more environmentally friendly and biodegradable. Moreover, they should keep track on private companies and authorizations that contribute to more land and water pollution. In conclusion, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish and thus, should be eliminated in order to minimize further pollution issues in the future.