Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Talents of children lie not only in reading, writing and memorizing concepts. The tastes in developing ideas and creating new arts should be quantified in schools for the proper physical and mental growth of children. The traditional concept of teaching art as a subject plays an integral role in forming talented generations. However, there are those who complain it consume considerable study time of the school children. Both the views are discussed as follows. On the one hand, learning and practising art requires immense concentration, dedication and determination. This seems to be the prime reason behind the addition of art as a subject in a number of educational institutions. For instance, practising art forms like mural painting has proven to improve student concentration and it is one of the best relaxation techniques. Mural art involves intricate lines and curves that improve the hand flexibility of children who practice it. Apart from the benefit of mental relaxation, students grow well-disciplined and physically fit by practising arts such as dance and aerobics on a daily basis. Hence, both the parents and teachers, intend to maintain an art subject in the school curriculum for both the academic and fitness progression of the students. Sometimes, many parents neglect the aforementioned benefits knowingly or unknowingly and claim it as a wastage of time. The reason might be some curious children may spend a considerable amount of time solely on the artwork without occupying themselves for study purposes. This can affect their academic performance and parents are worried about failures in the formal assessments. Moreover, art -based jobs or careers do not offer extreme incomes and job insecurity sustains unless they become famous. Professional and technical courses can aid in securing well-paid jobs easily and hence some people consider replacing art subjects with courses of such types. To summarize, I feel the outcomes of studying art subjects always outweigh and the best is to never eliminate any art subject from the school syllabus. There are students who are capable of pursuing both career and art talents parallelly and such multi-tasking capabilities should be encouraged by parents and trainers for their career development rather than compelling students to concentrate only on certain subjects.