Some people think that it is a good thing for senior management positions to have very high salaries compared to other workers of lower positions in the same company. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, there are countless jobs for people to choose from, and salaries are usually associated with the positions in the company. Some people believe that people who stand in higher positions should get better wages than normal staff. I agree with that, and in this essay, I will offer my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. There are several classes in an office, and each of them represents different levels, which means they have different job descriptions, responsibilities, stress, and so on. First and foremost, because of taking responsibility for employees and doing more work, high-position managers need to put more effort into work than junior staff. In other words, they need to handle multiple things from the team's policy decisions, employees' work progress, team performance, etc, despite personal work. Take my team manager as an example, she always needs to participate in lots of meetings with other teams, which not only takes her time but also contributes to her working overtime. Furthermore, on one occasion, an employee was too slow to complete his project; as a result, my manager had to take over his work and work until midnight. Second, standing in the high seat also means tolerating stress, this will keep growing with the incremental management responsibilities, which can trigger pressure on mental health; therefore, in comparison with a lower position staff, I think high-position workers need to be paid more due to their high-level responsibilities and stress. However, in some instances, people may think senior managers always stand in their seats without doing anything, meaning they may only give an order rather than do practical things, leading to employees having relatively heavy workloads. Apart from that, in terms of skills, sometimes some workers may have more specific skills and understand more knowledge in some fields, compared to the managers. That is to say, owing to different professional levels, some people may think work with substantial performance makes more contributions. Although there are some reasons why high-position staff should not be paid high wages, I still think that they just do things that people cannot see, and it is often difficult to define, which is truly a hard part for them; hence they worth to get more paid. In conclusion, in a company, there are various and complex duties, and each position has its own business and should take different responsibilities. In my perspective, senior managers getting high salaries makes sense because of high-pressure work, and heavy workloads, so the high-paid salaries are needed.