Some people think museums should be enjoyable places to attract and entertain young people, while others think the purpose of museums should be to educate, not entertain. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Museums are seen to be an important institution of the educational process by many people. However, a group of people believes that they can also be enjoyable places to entertain youngsters. In my view, although galleries bear an essential role to educate, involving various entertaining elements may attract many young people to attain new knowledge. Museums are mostly operating to provide indispensable information to all segments of the population. Most of them display many invaluable artefacts depicting the historical background of a nation of a country. So, when young generations absorb verbal information, they have been taught, by visiting museums visual experiences can supplement this knowledge. For example, the Historical Museum of Azerbaijan has a very impressive collection of historical and cultural objects belonging to different epochs of our country and most probably, when schoolchildren see those items, they can easily expand their knowledge about historical events. Therefore, museums are considered vital places to be visited by juveniles to help them with their studies. However, many people, including me, support the idea that the rendering process of educational information in museums would be better to be in entertaining mode. Many of those places are voiceless premises with semi-dark rooms and are mostly inhabited by educated people interested in a certain scientific field. If, for instance, museums alter their themes, by adding more visual effects, computerized graphics, they will be attractive to more young people. An increase in the number of visitors may also bring more revenue which in turn can be used for improving the quality of exhibitions. In conclusion, despite the fact that museums play an enormous role in providing scientific knowledge to youngsters, adding more entertaining elements will attract more people on the one hand and can help to boost the revenue of the institutions on the other hand.