Some argue that we should use cleaner energy sources to protect the environment, even though they are more expensive than traditional energy sources like coal and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While most countries around the world nowadays chose coal and oil as main sources of energy, some people claimed that we should use green energy in order to alleviate the environmental problems. The following paragraphs will explain why I strongly support the suggestion to draw upon cleaner energy. First and foremost, as human beings, it is our responsibility to protect the natural world by any possible means including give up some conventional ways of obtaining energy. Since all sorts of current human activities take place on Earth, undoubtfully, the abuse of fossil fuel has become the culprit of series of environmental issues. For example, when fossil fuels are burnt in a car engine, a large amount of CO2, along with other greenhouse gases---especially these are not biodegradable---is eliminated into the atmosphere, which is responsible for some severe environmental issues such as air pollution and global warming. Noticing such harsh weather are proofed to have a long-lasting impact. Therefore, in order to build a cleaner world, we must replace such harmful fuels. On the other hand, consider the monetary matters, the opponent of the above statement says that instead of exploiting an alternative source of energy, it is better to spend money elsewhere such as growing trees, or develop sewage treatment which is proofed to be helpful in terms of cleaning. Nevertheless, the problem won’t be solved yet, unless we remove the sources of pollution. Consequently, people still have to spend extra fortunes on handling such contamination. What’s more, such things are out of concern if we simply use cleaner energy, namely, they produce no pollutants in the aftermath. In a word, rather than find ways to deal with the pollutants after burning fossil fuels, people should pay more attention to thoroughly eliminate the source of pollution. To conclude, I take a side on the suggestion that people should try alternative sources of energy not merely because of the importance of the natural world to humans but also a long-term approach to eliminate pollution.