As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that businesses should be concerned about society. From my perspective, I agree with this viewpoint. This essay is to shed light on the reasons for the mentioned fact. On the one hand, people believe that businesses do not need to pay attention to social obligations as they have to make money to survive in the comparative world. Firstly, businesses spend a huge amount of money covering their operating costs such as worker’s wages and infrastructure fees. Secondly, they also need to pay attention to invest in the product's and services qualities. To be more specific, to attract more customers, businesses will spend money on technology, training the workforce and advertisement. On the other hand, it is true that companies should take part in social responsibilities to improve social life as they are unseparated part of the whole community. In more detail, companies play a crucial role in a country's development. For example, the tax which businesses pay will be used to modernize public services such as healthcare or education. Furthermore, I believe that companies can make profits if they join local charities because it is a way to advertise their products. It is clear that participating in social projects is a good way for companies to become well-known to people. For example, 60% of businesses in Vietnam admitted taking part in fundraising fairs and volunteering helps them sell goods better than advertising in some social media. To sum up, while some people may say businesses do not need to focus on social activities, I hold a belief that social obligations should be compulsory for companies as it will affect the development of a country.