Many people believe children should begin learning a foreign language in primary school instead of secondary school. Do you think the advantages of learning a foreign language in primary school outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a contentious argument over the suitable timing for children picking up another language. I am inclined to the view that the merits of non-native language studying at such a young age, namely during primary school outweigh its drawbacks. The cogent reason why youngsters are well-advised to familiarize themselves with others besides their mother tongue is that the brain could develop the words as well as structures more efficiently during an early period. Toddlers are often regarded as a new sheet of paper, which means that they are granted the ability to learn novel things including foreign tongues nearly effortlessly. This also applies to the case of students in primary school. Additionally, the younger humans are, the more inquisitive we will be towards the world. Therefore learning various vocabularies appears to be a fascinating activity for them compared to the older, who view this process as discouraging and even intimidating. On the other hand, concerns are mounting that multiple words in different countries would somehow create a heavy workload for the brain, which results in its incapability of standard processing. To illustrate, one word alone consists of multiple layers of meaning, therefore, the process of understanding it in another language is thought to be detrimental for children, who may struggle to deal with an excessive amount of information. Teenagers, by contrast, seem to handle this problem more easily. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of picking up a non-native tongue in terms of effortless learning and greater incentive prevail over its disadvantages such as the difficulty of vocabulary processing.