Today, many people don’t know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Socialisation in modern cities is a crucial topic to be discussed nowadays because numerous individuals find it arduous to know their neighbours due to two reasons, namely workloads and limited time as well as energy. In order to address this obstacle, some moments can be created and in this essay, I will explain further about this and the major rationales of this phenomenon in detail. The most notable reason why people living in a metropolitan city are unable to socialise with their neighbourhoods is because they are busier than members of society in rural areas. It occurs since they have to work from 9 to 5 in their workplaces and sometimes can be overtime until midnight. As a result, they do not have time and energy to engage with other people, including their neighbours. This prevalent phenomenon, for instance, is happening in Jakarta as many individuals there tend to focus more on their lives because of work responsibilities. In order to overcome this issue, having similar activities, such as a routine gathering or party, is necessary in order to build robust bonds with each other. This notion has been implemented in my society for nearly ten years and has been effective in getting to know other neighbours. Besides doing this, the authorities in the area can also initiate a competition on a special occasion, namely the independence day. This applies in many Indonesian regions and scientifically proves that connecting members of the public with competition, for example, eating meatballs, racing, and looking for particular goods, is able to improve their relationships because it requires teamwork. To conclude, the time and energy of people in a big city are occupied with their workload, so they have an inadequate moment to know their neighbours. To accomplish this problem, spending time together with the same activities, such as parties and competitions, is necessary.