In the past, when students did a university degree, they trended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, many students prefer to go abroad for higher education compared to the past. Study in a foreign country has many benefits such as they able to improve English knowledge and get job opportunities while this development negatively impacts the economy of third world countries. In this essay, I will discuss each point in greater detail. To begin with, foreign university education provides many benefits for students. One of the advantages is, this helps to improve English knowledge. For example, when studying in their own country, most students use their own language to communicate with fellow students as most of them are locals. But, in a foreign country, since many nationalities study in college, they must use English to communicate with each other. Another advantage is many colleges provide internship programs for undergraduates which helps to obtain international work experience which gives them a chance to settle and work in a developed country. When considering the aforementioned perks, conducting studies abroad give many advantages. However, It is irrefutable that there are some disadvantages to this trend. This impacts negatively on the economy of countries that are still developing as money flows out of the country. For instance, students pay higher course fees for these study programs and also they bring more money out from the country to spend their expenses. Another drawback is, the local education system is gradually falling down as most individuals prefer international education over local education nowadays. It is incontrovertible that this development poses some downsides when considering the above facts. In summary, most people choose to go abroad for higher education nowadays and this poses many advantages as well as disadvantages. When considering the aforementioned points, I believe study abroad gives many benefits for the students over the drawbacks.