Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, there has been a great deal of discussion revolving around the issue of animal testing. Some people assert that these experiments ought to be disallowed because they involve moral issues, whereas many others argue that they strongly believe it brings a huge value to our lives. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and present my personal view in the conclusion. On the one hand, it is understandable why many people believe that medicines tested on animals have huge benefits for human life. First, animal experiments have contributed to the development of many treatments and saving human lives. The California Biomedical Research Association has stated that nearly every medical breakthrough in the past 100 years has resulted directly from research using animals. For example, an experiment to remove the pancreas in dogs helped detect insulin - the key factor in saving the lives of people with diabetes. In addition, animal research has also contributed to great advances in deeply understanding and treating many serious diseases such as tuberculosis, breast cancer, brain injury, or leukemia in children. Second, choosing animals as research subjects is better than humans because their life cycles are shorter. For example, mice in the lab only live two to three years, so researchers can study the impact of treatments or genetic problems over their lifetime or over generations. This is impossible on a human subject. Especially for long-term cancer research, because of its short lifespan, rats are particularly well-suited to this type of research. Finally, animal experiments help test the safety of medicinal products before they are used in humans. Evaluating the side effects of a drug requires a genome close to that of a human and a circulatory system to carry the drug to different organs like humans. And so far there is no suitable substitute for testing a medicinal product in living organisms rather than animals, even the most technologically advanced products. Therefore, the sacrifice of a group of animals is now necessary for the survival and development of mankind. On the other hand, there are many reasons why animal experimentation should be banned. First, from an ethical point of view, experimenting on animals is seen as cruel and inhumane. In fact, most of the animals used in the experiments were forced to eat, or live in conditions of lack of food and water, and were harmed for the purpose of medical research. All living things in this world, whether humans or other animals, have equal rights, and they all have their own roles in balancing the ecosystem. Therefore, they all have the right to live, and to be respected. Animals, like humans, also have feelings of pain or fear, desire to exist, and have no obligation to make sacrifices to satisfy human interests. Second, products that have been successfully tested on animals are not sure to be absolutely safe when used for humans. A prime example in history is the sleeping pill thalidomide which caused 10,000 severe birth defects in babies in the 1950s, even though it was tested in high doses on a variety of animals before being widely released. Similarly, animal testing of the arthritis drug Vioxx showed a cardioprotective effect in mice, but the drug, in fact, caused multiple heart attacks and sudden cardiac death in humans before being withdrawn. Therefore, applying experiments on animals and being over-confident in its results can lead to wrong decisions and endanger people. In conclusion, I would concede that experimentation on animals brings huge profits to humans. However, this is morally wrong and also brings some harm to people. Therefore, I think it is better for us to limit drug testing on animals.