People these days watch TV, films and other programs alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the advent of streaming services and personal computers it has become increasingly common for individuals to watch entertainment alone rather than with friends and family. In my opinion, this is overall a negative development despite the conveniences it offers. The advantages of more insular viewing habits relate to individual convenience. For example, A Netflix subscriber can choose from a wide range of current and past entertainment without having to consult others. This means they are more likely to choose programs that are relevant to their tastes. Secondly, watching shows alone allows for greater flexibility. An individual can pause, switch to another program, re-watch shows, and transition between a variety of portable devices. Each of these decisions does not require negotiation with others and can be made depending on a person’s mood and preferences. However, I believe the tradeoffs related to social cohesion are more pressing concerns. Society has become increasingly insular in general due to the pervasiveness of one-sided technological interactions on devices such as smartphones and laptops. This transition has loosened social bonds between family members, friends, significant others, and society. In the past, a family might watch a television show together, joke about it, discuss it, and then have a common point of reference for later conversations. This is now less likely to happen. Many consumers now spend an outsized amount of time alone, limiting their exposure to other perspectives. In conclusion, watching programs alone may seem advantageous. But its initial purpose of strengthening the bond with friends and family has been lost.