The use of mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries and shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since mobile phones are widely used around the world, there has been much debate about its negativities. Some people think that these devices should be prohibited in public facilities. Personally I only partially agree with this point of view, because although the ban on cellphones will improve socialization, there are occasions on which phones are necessary. If a no-cellphone policy is imposed on public places such as libraries and shopping malls, in-person communication will improve in many different ways. Friends and families who are going out together will pay more attention to what their companions are say, which in turns will improve their relationships as well as socialization skills. This benefit of a break from cellphones have been proven by psychological research: it has been confirmed times and over that refraining from using one’s phone during a conversation increases trust and sympathy between two people. Additionally, not being preoccupied with their phones, people will be more likely to converse with strangers, creating even more opportunities for valuable human interaction. Nonetheless, people need their cell phones to attend to matters that are far away from their current locations. Such business can be work-related: office workers may receive phone calls from their boss about updates on a project, and managers may give their subordinates a call to fill them in on preparations they need to make. It can also be family emergencies in cases of accidents of a loved one or a child getting sick at school and requiring the care of the parents. To convey such information quickly so that timely solutions can be undertaken, mobile phones as a mean of communication is crucial, which undermines the prohibition against them, within or without public places. To summarize, while there are social benefits associated with a ban on mobile phones in public places, the need to constantly stay in touch in modern societies demands that cellphones are handy at all times. Being given that the evidence is conflicting, I can only partially agree with the policy in concern. I think middle-ground solutions should be considered, such as a selective ban on mobile phones at certain, not all, venues.