Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothing and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only thinks about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Children nowadays are encouraged to make their own decisions on daily tasks, from tiny tasks like entertainment to essential matters like food and clothing. However, some people argue that this result in kids having the mindset of only thinking of themselves while other people believe that it is a great chance for them to learn how to make decisions on matters that affect them. In the following essay, I will discuss both of the above opinions, and give the reason why I personally think that allowing kids to make daily decisions is good for them. On one hand, those who believe that kids should not have right to make any decisions about themselves. For example, a five-year-old boy can hardly decide which school he needs to attend simply because he lacks knowledge about the educational system. That is to say, the lack of life experience for young kids is the reason why they don’t agree for kids to make decisions themselves. Therefore, this group of people are strongly against allowing kids to make decisions. On the other hand, another group of people, including me, argue that teenagers are able to develop important skills for their careers through practising making decisions daily. For instance, children are known to be more independent than children who rely on their parents to make the decision. In another word, skills such as time and financial management, organizational skills could be developed as they have grown up. Moreover, it is vital for children to acknowledge the consequence and results after they make the decision as reality might not meet their expectations towards it. Consequently, allowing youngsters to learn how to make choices by themselves can help them become more successful and competitive in the future. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages for youngsters to make their own decisions. Nonetheless, the same as the second group of people, I believe they should develop their own potentials at earlier ages. With the assistance of adults, children can eventually strike a balance in decision making and become more mature.