Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Every country has its own signature places to visit that represent its region, such as museums and historical sites that have attracted a lot of tourists. However, they do not succeed in catching the local visitors’ interest. This writing will attempt to elaborate not only the reason why it happens but also what the stakeholders should do to cope with it. The causes that affect the huge distinction of the number are varied. First, some of the locals are not keen on the history compared to the foreigners who have a high fancy for it. As can be seen, most museums treasure a lot of historical and ancient heritage. The second is due to the cultural identity that is owned by a certain area. This leads to less excitement for the natives to explore. In contrast, overseas outsiders are more curious since other countries’ inheritances are attractive to view and could gain countless lessons about the places’ past stories. Another consideration is that several heritage sites are not really picturesque in design, so it just can attract the elders’ attention while the youths are not fascinated much. In fact, some of them are not well maintained by the government and insiders sometimes do not follow the regulations by throwing rubbish around the historical spot. Therefore, some actions could be taken to handle the issue. The first, to persuade the dwellers is by decorating the museum with more stunning and eye-catching elements, such as utilizing high technology elements and decorating every single corner of the wall to become more picturesque. The second is to heighten the promotion in social media by inclining the educational side of the historical venue since the majority of internet users are teenagers. To sum up, the inheritance spots could be more appealing for gaining the enthusiasm of domestic people to take a look at if the protection and promotion are genuinely given a large portion.