Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the companies should hire more independent and innovative workers who can work alone if needed whereas more conventional notion is that, team player or someone who is able to fit in the team should be given preference while recruiting workers. This essay will shed some light on whether mavericks or the team player should be prioritised while hiring. First of all, to decide what sort of employee that a company wants to hire is completely objective as the needs of every workplace is different, but, for the sake of this question, let's presume that its for an accounting firm. In that case, there will be times where the worker will have to handle clients on his own with very little supervision. On top of that, he will be expected to have all the expertise and required skills to initiate and eventuate the task provided. Furthermore, the companies will be able to cut down on cost if one worker can multitask and deal with multiple jobs, which is more conducive form an employer's perspective, than to hire a big team to do the same. On the other hand, not all tasks can be completed by one human being, as every worker brings in different set of skills and experience on the table, and it's always handy to have someone who is able to adjust his schedule, make changes to anything at the last moment, someone who can chip in if other member of the team is absent. This not only provides flexibility but also the security that the work will be done in the given time, which can not be certain if an employee is working alone. In conclusion, on boarding worker who is innovative and able to work independently, is certainly cost effective but, a team player can always handle more complex situations as the team will be behind him, and the chances of errors are less probable when you are working in a team, rather than alone.