Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

In the developed countries, obesity in youngsters has increased at an alarming rate. Some people believe that advertisements for fast meals should be banned in academic institutions. I partially agree with this statement because a ban on adverts in educational places will not eradicate the eating habits of fast cuisine. To begin with, fast-food companies manipulate the minds of the young generation with advertisements. They use celebrities for their ads, when young minds watch the famous person eating the sweets or drinking the sugary products they attract towards it. By consuming these brands they become used to it and make it a habit. For example, famous footballer Cristino Ronaldo refused to drink the coca-cola during an interview and the company suffered a billion dollars loss by his act. If these adverts are banned from academic institutions, adolescents will not be attracted to sugary products. On the other hand, banning the promotion is not the ultimate act to stop newly developed minds from using it. They can watch the same ads on TV or the internet in their homes yet they can be attracted to junk foodstuff. For instance, I was surprised when my 2 years old son noticed Pepsi in an ad on TV and he asked his mother to give him the same product from the fridge. Furthermore, an awareness program should be launched about the drawbacks of canned production rather than just banning the adverts in academic places. Adolescents should be taught about the fatness issues which the young generation is suffering nowadays. To conclude, such promotional activities should be banned completely from the vicinity of academic institutions as well as an awareness program should be launched to teach the side effects of unhealthy meals.