Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Amidst the surge of price in medications, some of the citizens in developing countries have failed to gain access to these medicines and resulting in delay in health in some patients. This essay believes that this issue should not be borne by the pharmaceutical industry by lowering their products ’ prices because it will compromise the quality of their products and more importantly, it should be the government’s responsibility to ensure the accessibility of healthcare for their citizens. The intention of drug companies to make their products affordable for some developing countries should not be a preferred idea because it will impact the efficacy of their products. It is inevitable that some medications require high- price materials which makes the cost of selling are so high. If these materials are not present, then the products ’ qualities are at stake. For example, a post-op medication is known to be expensive because of its rare material substances, and when a company tries to lower the selling price, they will cut the inclusion of these rare substances, therefore, the quality of the medicine is compromised. Moreover, it is not the role of the pharmaceutical industry to make some medicines available for patients in developing countries as this is the government’s responsibility. Any government of any poor country should be liable for their nation’s well-being, and it could be done in some ways. For instance, the health authority should create a subsidized program for the poor to cover the medicines required. In conclusion, the expensive price of some medications has made some patients in developing countries incapable of affording the products, though this essay believes that it should not be the pharmaceutical industry’s responsibility to regulate the price to be lower because it could impact the quality of their products due to the exclusions of some chemical substances. Moreover, it should be the authority’s liability to ensure the healthcare of its citizens by implementing a subsidized program where the poor community could have access to unlimited medications.