Society is based on the rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that governments set rules in order to control society and protect its citizens. While some people believe that society cannot properly function if habitats were able to do anything they want, others argue that societies do not need rules. Personally, I completely support the former view. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion with relevant examples. To commence with the benefits of rules and regulations, first and foremost, it helps people to understand which behaviour is acceptable and which is not. For instance, speeding on the roads can result in grief consequences, however, with established speed limits, it becomes much safer to drive. Additionally, rules can deter people from committing criminal offences. A society without a regulated justice system with punishments would be a very dangerous place to live full of criminals. Subsequently, the law protects vulnerable individuals. Through the rules, governments are able to develop and support public services. More specifically, laws enforce individuals to pay taxes from their income, hence the government can spend the funds on improving living standards. For example, such sectors as public healthcare, education, roads improvement and more need constant funding. This enables society to stay healthy and literate. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that rules are of overriding importance in any society. Societies with no rules would be disarrayed and chaotic with increased crime rates and inhumane living conditions for citizens. As it follows from the aforementioned points, individuals function better when given guidelines.