Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A majority of giant companies prefer to advertise themselves by sponsoring prevalent sports teams and athletes. Whilst, certain individuals content the notion that such investments are beneficial in terms of fame and popularity, others have a contradictory opinion in which these sponsorships are considered detrimental. It is my contention that the benefit of an advertisement to the audience largely hinges on the promoting company and the product it advertises. First and foremost, advertisement is a massive business market, especially in sports events, companies continuously give sponsorships to successful athletes and teams in order to market their products on a whim to boost sales. Regardless of the business area, all companies ranging from energy drinks to airlines are generously financing players and teams. To cite an example, Redbull is an energy drink company and they pay huge amounts of sponsorship money to several athletes to just wear their logo and promote their drinks. Consequently, Redbull has remained at the top of the most-sold energy drink for 2 consecutive decades. Moreover, many big airline companies are now competing with each other to make sure that football teams like Barcelona, Real Madrid and Manchester City carry their name during the playoff games to convince fans to fly with their favourite airlines. On the other hand, when the promoted products are hazardous to human health, this opportunity can be undermined and even morph into a disadvantage. To illustrate, some sponsorship offers coming from alcohol brands can give a bad image to sports and individual promoters, since these two different values contradict each other. Unfortunately, commercialism in sports has now compelled regulators or even big players to turn a blind eye to an unhealthy product that is being advertised to consumers. For instance, the martial arts artist Conor McGregor has received a plethora of criticism over promoting a whiskey brand during his first UFC debut, raising concerns about the viewership age of this show. In conclusion, despite these sponsors playing a critical role in keeping sports events as big as today, some products should not be promoted as they are considered perilous to consumers.