Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Trung)

In an era when our network of information is so advanced that news can travel at the speed of light, some people hold the view that the broadcasting industry focuses solely on negative news rather than positive advancement and this might bring harmful effects to individuals and society as a whole. From my personal perspective, I totally agree with this idea and the reason will be explained in the following paragraphs. From a personal point of view, the devastating repercussions to each citizen are undeniable. This is because of the fact that those tragic reports affect mental health subconsciously. When the press covers mostly bad news like casualties in accidents and emergency situations, it induces subliminal anxiety in the audience. As a result, people have a pessimistic view about the world around them and this may eventually lead to depression. Statistically speaking, after the emergency crash landing of Indian Airlines broke out, a survey shows that the number of passengers willing to travel to India by plane plummeted by 50%. Dwellers refused to travel and isolated themselves due to a catastrophic incident happening far away. Looking from a broader view, this trend is also harmful to society as a whole. The major reason behind this is the fact that appalling press coverage may distort the image of the whole nation. When bombarded with a barrage of misleading information, a potential foreign traveller can have a grim look and insecure sentiment toward the country, which could sway them to invest their time and money in another country instead. A developing country like Vietnam is really in need of foreign direct investment (FDI) to protect its own image and avoid blowing problems out of proportion. In conclusion, although shocking news is often better at garnering publicity, I still hold the view that it needs to be done correctly and subtly so as not to impact citizens and the whole social structure.