Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often mentioned that children should start learning another language at primary school by many education experts. I strongly believe the disadvantage that students can be confused by learning more than one language at a young age is outweighed the advantage that students will have more natural non-native accents and opportunities to earn higher income in the future. To get started, introducing primary students to a new language, if the curriculum is not up to standard, can be burdensome for the children. In Thailand, for example, even though all students are legally required to learn English as a compulsory subject from first grade, most of them still do not feel confident in their English skills. One reason is that many Thai schools especially focus on grammar and vocabulary that is not practical to communicate with native speakers. In my opinion, these issues can be addressed strategically by focusing only on speaking in the primary school Having said that, I believe that if children learn a second language in an effective method, it should be a huge advantage for them. This is because exposing children early on to new languages gives them a head start in their future careers. According to the Samtech company’s employee requirement, in 2015, they were looking for someone who is fluent in at least 2 languages, and if any applicants can communicate more than that, then they will earn up to 15% more in salary for the average position. In conclusion, it seems to me that anything which encourages language learning of children benefits them, but it is supposed to be an efficient way. Moreover, I recommend that being fluent in other languages besides mother tounge contributes to increasing children ’s quality of life.