People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Since ages, cinema and TV have been a prodigious source of entertainment. Many experts debate that whether watching these alone at home is advantages or not. Personally, I am not in favour of aforementioned trend prevailing in society these days and following expository paragraphs will expatiate my point of view with lucid examples. To begin with, the major advantage that many people see is the convenience. Individuals these days barely have time to spend with their families and friends and cannot adjust their schedule with other to relish these entertainment sources and hence, watch these alone as per their timelines. Also, these days most of the tv shows are in the category of adult content because of which they feel comfortable while watching alone. For example, most of the series are that now release on online platform are designated as adult and parents cannot watch them with their kids. Therefore, It seems beneficial to enjoy these series alone with complete peace of mind rather than being ashamed of the scenes in front of others. On the other hand, one of the discernible disadvantages of watching tv alone is that people gets entrenched to it and eventually, lose their social connections. They tend to become reticent and gets trapped in their own ivory tower. As a result, their personality growth is decimated and, sometimes, they even refrain from sharing their problems to their family or friends. It can be exemplified by the recent incident where a teenager used to spend long hours in watching movies alone, and got into depression due to fiction world of tv programmes and thereby, developed suicidal tendency. In consistent with the same line of thinking is that it can have a deterrent effect on students as they tend to lose their emotional connection with family and always try to live in isolation. Nuclear family is a result of this kind of thinking. Such cases are ever-present and are treacherous. In conclusion, despite of the fact that the content of shows has changed substantially, it is imperative to watch them with group to enjoy and make stronger bond with friends. I reckon that disadvantages has more severe repercussions than the advantages and hence one should socialise with people while relishing these sources of entertainment.