The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that news coverage have exerted many impacts on our lives in recent years. While this may lead to some negative consequences, the news media brings some tangible benefits. There are some negative implications of news media. Firstly, Some moguls use their powers and money to make newspaper publishers talk good things about them. For example, those who want to elect into the government may want to get more support from the public, so they may invent some good stories and publicize them in newspapers. Secondly, when newspapers promote a new product, they tend to say over their function. Thus, clients may buy these products impulsively and squander a great deal of money. However, means of the news media have some positive impacts on social lives. The most important feature is that news media allow people access to the up-to-the-minute news. For instance, when people commute to their workplace, they could know routes that are congested thanks to the latest news. So, they could choose another road and arrive at their destinations in time. Another aspect is that it could provide news for people from the most remote places in the world. Weather forecasts and scientific news prevent peasants from harvest loss due to harsh weathers such as droughts and floods. In the past, the price of traditional newspapers are exorbitantly expensive, and only the wealthy can afford to buy them. In conclusion, means of news media have negative and positive impacts on human lives. People should reduce their dependence on them and make use of them wisely.