In many countries, crime rates among younger people have been rising in recent years. What are the causes of this, and what are the possible solutions?

In recent decades, the number of young offenders has increased unexpectedly in both poor and rich nations. The main reasons why many youths break the law are the economic factor and the rise of single families. Government should provide free compulsory classes about the law in curriculum education. The main reason why many teenagers offend the law is from financial factors. Many families who belong to low-paid wages cannot afford the education for their children and therefore many teenagers lack knowledge about the law. For example, according to the Vietnamese Social Journal, many young offenders who have a disadvantaged background do not take the high education and thus, they do not know that their actions are illegal or some of them try to break the law to improve their finances. Furthermore, the growing rate of divorce and higher single families also are reasons for this because children do not have enough concerns from fathers or mothers. A good illustration of this is a study indicating that 50% of the convicted youths in the prisons of the USA come from disrupted families. Free compulsory law classes should be offered in school to tackle this issue. With free law classes, everyone, included the underprivileged, can join and understand about law system. Law that is a compulsory subject prepares their knowledge, adolescents must know what is illegal and the effects if they involve crime. For instance, in Vietnam, many youths do not the punishment they can face if they abuse other people in the internet. If youth people know the results of their action, they will not do it. In conclusion, finance and the lack of concern from parents could be the main reasons why many adolescents commit crimes. Government can mitigate this issue by forcing youths to finish free law classes.