Write about the following topic: Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Every person has a personality which depends on the characteristics they are born with or the experience with which an individual goes through in his life. According to some research, it is believed that the traits we are born with mostly influence our personality development. This essay will discuss what is the major influence with some relevant examples. There is no doubt that the family in which we are born makes a huge difference in our upbringing. Every family has a varied culture, education, and standard of living which is somehow visible in our own behaviour. For instance, a child born in a rich family will have a different outlook on life as compared to someone who is born in a poor family. The rich child is born with all the luxury and because he doesn’t have to worry about his daily needs, he can pursue his dreams without any hurdle. But, on the other hand, the poor child has to work a little extra to achieve his goals. Although traits with which we are born with does affect our nature, life experiences do have a major impact on our persona. As they say, life is the best teacher, we learn as we grow from situations and people we meet. For example, my family is traditional when it comes to values and culture. They believe that modernization is destroying today's generation, but I don't think the same. Because I moved out to study and met different people, I have realized that both traditional and modern values should go hand-in-hand. In conclusion, although family background does influence some aspects of your life, it is the experience that impacts your overall development.