Some people thinl that parents should teach children how to be good members of society, Others, however, beloeve that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both veiws and give your own opinion.

Parents and teachers play an integral part in the upbringing of a child. Whether it should be the responsibility of parents or teachers to teach children about how to be a good citizen has been a contentious topic. Some people think teaching a child about how to live in a society is parents ' responsibility because they are the ones who spend most of the time with a child during his childhood and as they will be taking most of the decisions on his behalf during that period, while others believe school is the place where a child should learn about his duties and responsibilities towards the society. I support the former view. Numerous scientific studies have shown that child's ability to learn is at its peak till the age of seven and this is the age during which they start forming their point of view of the world around them. Since the parents are the ones who spend most of the time during this period with their children, they are the ones most responsible for the child's future conduct. Moreover, parents take all the important decisions for their children during this early stage. For instance, what kind of environment they want their child to be brought up in and what sorts of habits or values they want their child to inculcate. Such crucial decisions will have a significant impact on a child's psychology and going to paint a picture of society for him. In contrast, some groups of people think that the school is the place where a child should learn the fundamental codes of conduct and important lessons about life as the educational institutions are established in society for this purpose only. In addition, people also believe that schools and colleges have the ideal infrastructure and a system in place to teach a child more effectively. For instance, schools have a trained staff, who are especially coached to teach children and also in various other tasks that are needed in the upbringing of a child. In conclusion, though the educational institutions have the proper infrastructure and trained staff to raise a child and make him a better citizen, I believe that parents are more responsible as they are the ones who are going to spend most of the time with their children and going to have a significant early impact in their lives.