Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every single person has a past and it depends on the person to learn from his past or run away from it. In my opinion, the only way to know something works for you or not is by experiencing it yourself. The same way the past is an reflection of ourselves and it helps us grow as a person. Behind every successful person, there is a past full of failure, passion and hardwork, which is never learnt by the common public. If we want to be successful in life, we need to look at the past of these people and learn the skills and perseverance developed by this people. I feel the only person who can live in the present is someone who has no goals in life or the one who has no intention to develop himself as a human being. For instance, in a recent interview Cristiano Ronaldo one of the greatest players to ever play football was asked about his consistency over the last 15 years of playing professional football and he answered that he always learns from the mistakes he has committed in the past and tries to evolve as a player by not repeating the same error again and again. Thus, if we ignore our past, it basically means that we are disregarding our chance to better ourselves in the forthcoming life. In conclusion, I believe that we as human beings are gifted with the skill to remember things for a reason and we should not waste it by remembering the sad things from our past instead we should develop a habit to review our past and set higher goals for our future.