Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays foodstuff items are transported across the globe. It is considered by some that, consuming homegrown food items support the environment and improve the financial strength of the consumer. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement and I will explain why in the following essay. Transporting commodity goods across the world primarily depend on fossil-fuel-based vehicles, which is one of the major reasons for global warming. Transportation of goods can take several months to reach its final destination and during this process, tons of litters of petrol or diesel will be burned and it emits carbon monoxide and other microparticles, which can damage the biodiversity. On the other side, if end-users start consuming locally harvested crops, then the shipping requirements get reduced, then eventually it helps to reduce pollution and increase the sustainability of the biodiversity. Locally farmed edible products will be cheaper compared to globally shipped goods due to a variety of factors. Carriage costs will be less for the items cultivated in neighbouring areas compared to goods shipped from long distances. Furthermore, meat products and vegetables undergo preservation techniques and chemical processing prior to shipping because it helps to keep the products without damage for a long period, consequently this process will inflate the final value of the product. As an illustration, the movement of goods from Japan to the US will be expensive compared to transporting them inside the US. In conclusion, there are numerous advantages for homegrown food items, especially improving the environmental stability and buyers and societies monetary benefits. Based on the arguments outlined above, I strongly support the benefits of locally planted or farmed food items that are better than foodstuffs shipped from long distances.