It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, owing to the progress in technology, choices of our travel destinations have diversified, and human beings now are able to reach remote places, including the South pole, where our predecessors had yearned for long years. Although some people hold the view that this brings about disadvantageous outcomes, I believe this development entails more merits than drawbacks. On the one hand, as the first drawback, travels to distant natural environments devastate the previous biodiversity. With the advance in tourism, incoming visitors can alter the existing nature of animals and plants. Furthermore, travel plans always have a considerable possibility of encountering disasters. Destinations are the places that have not been investigated enough due to severe natural conditions, which may result in large scale incidents. For example, in the South pole, a great number of explorers were disappeared because of unexpected weather or terrains. Thus, there are disadvantages in terms of the local environment and safety. On the other hand, I argue that there are more advantages than drawbacks. First of all, expeditions can broaden the potential for future research. Since there are no accumulated data of such places, the investigations can unveil new findings on biodiversity and historical routes. For instance, the investigations on the volume of ice in the South Pole revealed that a pace of ice declining was a serious issue. The research result became a wake-up call to the international community. In addition, by commercialising, travels increase business opportunities. This inspires the local economy and gives the financial security for preservation. In conclusion, in my opinion, though travels to unreclaimed lands have hazardous effects on the environment and safety, this situation triggers positive consequences by the progress in research and enlarging business opportunities.