Children in many countries are eating more fast food and convenience snacks. Why are children doing this and how serious are the consequences?

In the contemporary scenario, it has been often observed that children in many nations indulge in consuming greater amounts of junk and processed food items. This can happen due to a variety of reasons. This trend can have negative impacts. Both, the reasons and its consequences will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with the causes of this damaging trend, a there are three main reasons for easy snacking. First of all, these cost- effctive and readily available Fast foods and convinience items are found in local stores as well as large supermarkets, thus its easy availability makes it popular. Furthermore, the parents today have a busy schedule, so they lack time to cook meals. Therefore, they turn to these type of foods that are easy to cook. For instance, packed food items contain added spices and all the spices, it just has to be fried. This proves as a boon for working caregivers. In addition, thanks to the marketing of such products. The people, especially the younger age groups are attracted to these items thus gaining more popularity. Although seems harmless, this trend of fast food posses harmful and rather serious consequences. This type of food items contain additives and presevatives which are not healthy and can interfere with the intestinal well being. Thus increases risk to stomach ailments. Moreover, these processed products contain high amount of saturated fats increasing risk of obesity among children. Obesity, without a doubt leads of long-term ill effects. Lastly, packed foods do not meet the standard requirements for vitamins and minerals that are essential especially during the growth years of children. Therefore, the child usually lacks the general immunity and strength. Studies show that 50 percent children who consume fast foods on a regular basis lack energy and are often lazy. All in all, this results in immediate as well as long term serious damage to health. In a nutshell, it can be said that the increasing trend of consumption of fast and convinience convenient products cannot be entirely reverted back but should be put under control to protect the health of the future.