Some people believe that a zoo has no useful purpose. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is argued that captivating animals in cages for the public to see them is not justified. I completely disagree with this as a zoo can save endangered species from extinction, in addition to that, it supports states economically and it is a helpful educational tool. A valid reason to have a zoo is to preserve rare species that are on the verge of extinction. The Arabian Leopard, for example, is a leopard subspecies that is critically endangered as there are only less than 200 ones all over the world. Hence, keeping some of them captivated is a must in order to save them. Another point to consider is that zoos provide an economic boost to their community. In other words, it is a place that families usually visit to spend the day there and enjoy seeing animals. As a result, this contributes to the country’s economy through the entrance or tickets fees paid upon entering a zoo. Finally, children and youngsters can educationally benefit from keeping animals behind bars by having the opportunity to see them in reality. To illustrate, Modern School in Egypt regularly arranges a school trip for its students to visit Giza’s zoo; therefore, the teachers can have a better chance to educate youngsters about various types of animals. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that keeping animals in unnatural environments has many benefits by preserving them from extinction, additionally, it supports countries financially and represents a useful source of education for children.