Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The type of punishment given to different kinds of crimes has always been in debate. Some argue that there should be fixed punishments defined for each type of crime while others feel that circumstances of an individual crime and motivation should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. I believe that the motivation and circumstance of a crime should be taken into account while giving punishment to the culprits. On one hand, defining a specific set of punishments for all kinds of crimes is important as it ensures a smooth judgement process. Moreover, this creates a fear in people before committing any kind of crime as they will be knowing the severity of punishment they will be facing, if they commit any crime. For example, if a person doesn't know what kind of punishment will be given for a crime like pickpocketing, he will be doing the crime without any fear and does not understand the consequences. On the other hand, taking the motivation behind any crime into consideration is also important. On humanitarian grounds, we need to understand the circumstances the culprit is in when he is committing the crime. For instance, a person needs money for feeding his family and there is no other way of getting money, then in such situations the punishment needs to be minimal as there is no bad intention behind committing the crime. He is committing a crime under pressure and this needs to be taken into account while deciding the punishment for him. In conclusion, even though both views have their own advantages, In my opinion considering the cause of the crime is important while deciding on punishment given to the criminals.