The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Having multiple sources of income have been a trend lately. Pursuing a single degree and a job in the same field is now being obsolete. In my opinion, growing desires to live a luxurious life could be one of the major driving forces for the same. Earlier, people were satisfied with being able to fulfil basic needs like Food, Shelter and Clothing. very few wanted to go above and beyond the basic lifestyle. Considering the grandparent's generation, for instance, people were quite happy to take care of their farms. Others who did not own land used to go for a graduation and a salaried job to feed the family. The major reason was that they were simply fulfilled with what they had at that time without knowing about the luxuries outside their stipulated boundaries. Nowadays, with the latest advancements in technology and the internet, everybody has easy access to the latest innovations that make their life easy which in turn arouses the desire of wanting them. The more such aspirations grow, the more money is needed to satisfy the same. The simple and single source of income gained with ordinary education is falling short to achieve the goal. In India, a person having an average monthly salary of Rs. 25,000 can hardly manage to buy the latest iPhone, or a luxury car for instance. consequently, people are trying to find different earning methods like having a side business or investing in stock markets to gain quick returns instead of going for a masters degree. Furthermore, these new endeavours might demand a new skill set that could be gained based on experience and going to be a continuous learning process. To recapitulate, the single career does not suffice growing human needs, thus having another trades side by side is going to be a new normal.