Some people say that public libraries are an important resource and should be free .Others say that they are just a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Libraries are a crucial part of our society. They provide easy access to books, magazines, newspapers, etc. Some people are of the opinion that public libraries should be free, while others believe that it is useless to spend public money on them. In my opinion, spending money on improving the lives of underprivileged people is much more important than using it to provide free library services.The following paragraphs will discuss both views and justify my opinion.. People of all age groups visit the library for various purposes. However, it is most frequently visited by university students. They mainly use it to find useful research papers and books. Also, several people prefer studying in a library because it always has a quiet and peaceful ambience.A library serves many purposes and hence it should be free, so that it can be affordable for everyone. For example, I always visit the government library present in my hometown on weekends to borrow my favourite books.Sometimes, I even go there to study if there is a lot of disturbance at home. On the other hand, a number of people borrowing books from the library is decreasing day by day. This is mainly because today all kinds of books, papers and magazines are available on the internet. People can easily download any book they require online.. Hence, instead of wasting money on running libraries, the agovernment should utilize it to help the poor people and to improve other sectors such as transport, medicine, education,etc. For instance, in India, a lot of people die of hunger every day. Hence, India just cannot afford to waste money on establishing and maintaining libraries. To conclude, I think that even though libraries were enormously useful in the past, they are not today. Hence, using public money on libraries is not a wise decision. it should be used o improve the standard of living of common people.