Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Over the years the outbreak of new diseases have significantly increased and so has the response to it, by the medical fraternity. In order to protect the human race from these illnesses,immunisation is crucial. I believe parents should be enforced by the law to immunise their children. Analysing the reasons such as the absence of knowledge towards immunisation and sheer ignorance by the parents will help bolster this. Firstly, with more and more development done by medical sciences on vaccines against new types of diseases,not the entire current information may be available to the parents. Most of the parents not only lack complete knowledge about vaccines that are recommended for children but also lack knowledge about their effectiveness. For example, most of the parents don't know the fresh diseases that are incubating in growing kids and hence they tend to miss getting them vaccinated. In such cases, it is imperative of the law to mandate a specific list of vaccinations that parents can refer to and further get the infant immunised with. Hence an intervention by the law is important. Secondly, some parents are just ignorant. They, even after knowing the harmful effects of disease and about the vaccination used to prevent it,will just avoid getting the young ones immunised over sheer confidence. They believe that these diseases only affect rural people and can't affect them. For instance, Polio was a huge problem in India. Even after massive awareness campaigns and vaccinations showing positive results on kids, parents in urban India didn't make an effort to get their kids vaccinated. It was only after the law of India made it mandatory for kids to get this shot, that this disease was completely eradicated in India. Therefore parents by law should be made to immunise their kids. In the nutshell,immunisation is critical for growing kids and should be made a mandate. In the lack of parents understanding the usefulness of such vaccines, the human race can hugely suffer. Hence, by law parents should be made to immunise their kids.