Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Everyone dreams to travel abroad and it has become common to travel to foreign lands in recent times. Some people believe that excess in tourism has a detrimental effect on the countries travelled to and I disagree to a large extent as there are many benefits for the host countries such as contribution to the economy and increased employment opportunities and the only drawback is the increase in pollution levels. Economical boost is of utmost importance for any country and governments work tirelessly to raise the economical bar. Tourism plays a significant role in contributing to the economy of any region as the more tourists visit, the more taxes will be collected which will result in a better economic condition. Moreover, tourists pay a hefty amount to book tickets to visit a historic place or an art gallery which is higher than the amount locals have to pay for the same activity. To cite an example, my cousin from the USA visited India and we travelled to Agra to see the Taj Mahal and the ticket cost to visit the historic place was INR 550 for my cousin as she was a foreign national whereas I had to pay only INR 20. Additionally, visitors contribute to the overall employment rate of the country they visit and there are a number of job opportunities created such as jobs of tourist guides and drivers. According to a survey in 2017, the employment rate of Bali peaked as there were many tourists that visited Bali from Australia and other regions. These are the reasons that signify the benefits of tourism. On the other hand, pollution is becoming a huge problem globally as the levels have risen in the recent past. Tourists have played a part in contributing to this problem as the amount of litter and the number of cars on the road increases. People who visit from backward countries are not aware of certain rules of the country they visit. For instance, when I visited Australia, there was a tourist from a backward country where it is allowed to throw litter on the road and he kept throwing garbage of out his car. Conclusively, more and more people are travelling to foreign lands and there are many pros for the countries they visit as it allows the economy to grow and unemployment to decrease. The only detrimental factor is pollution which can be curtailed by creating awareness and some laws can be made by the government to tackles this problem. Travelling is advantageous for travellers as well as the hosts.