Every year large numbers of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

Country migration is a phenomenon that has happened at a considerable scale since the beginning of human civilization. In the past humans migrated to hunt or explore new territories, but nowadays humans choose to migrate to another country for other purposes. The reasons why people migrate vary and there are positive and negative aspects on both individual and societal levels. The advantages of people migrating from their homeland to a new country usually encompass prosperous career opportunities, a different lifestyle and a better quality of life. This is the case in countries such as Australia and New Zealand, where immigration rates have been increasing significantly over the years. Individuals from different nations benefit from migrating to both countries because of attractive salary offers and a well-structured welfare system, for instance. Moreover, in a societal context, immigrants have been contributing to these nations' economies, promoting social change and filling job positions on demand. On the other hand, migration is not a simple process and has some drawbacks. Mother countries face the loss of a qualified workforce as many who choose to move abroad are engineers, health professionals and IT specialists. Additionally, immigrants may face difficulties adapting to a new language and culture, living far from family, and can also experience xenophobia. For example, recent articles exposed that African immigrants in Spain have been experiencing racism when performing their work. Therefore, this may bring new challenges for society as the government needs to ensure the welfare of communities as well as create and reinforce anti-discrimination laws. In conclusion, migrating to another country has benefits and weaknesses for both individuals and society. The benefits include experiencing a new culture and lifestyle, and embracing better opportunities and quality of life while contributing to the community's economy. Among the negative impacts, there are challenges adjusting to the new culture and language, discrimination, and pressure on the government to reinforce laws and welfare of communities.