Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that watching television boost the efficiency of children in acquiring knowledge, so not only should we allow them to watch TV programs at home, but also encourage them to do so in their schools. From my perspective, I partially agree with this opinion. There is no denying that children are able to learn at a higher rate when they sit in front of TV screens. In addition to the stimulations of sounds that traditional teaching method possess, television also produces stimulation of vision such as colour, exaggerated body movements and pictures, which will draw childrens' attention and generates the desire to study. Furthermore, being less developed in the part of their brain responsible for language, children are more sensitive to pictures and sounds. Therefore, studying through TV programs promotes a more thorough understanding of subjects for kids. Having said that, students should not be allowed to watch TV in schools. The lack of self-discipline among children may lead to the situation that students are addicted to comics and have their time wasted without learning anything practical. Moreover, students can only acquire limited knowledge via watching television programs as the knowledge is mostly academic. Some skills that require a great deal of practice and hands-on experience, such as playing piano and swimming, cannot be learnt or improved by simply watching television. Therefore, overdependence on television may restrict the well-rounded development of school children. To summarize, television can improve the study efficiency of children by drawing attention and promoting understanding linked with pictures and sounds, but we should avoid its usage in schools owing to its limitations.