In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Globally, parents are increasingly seen inculcating a competitive attitude amongst their offspring. In some parts of the world, children are being pegged against their peers by their teachers, right from a very young age. This essay will highlight the pros and the cons of this approach. To begin with, children tend to learn a lot when they see someone of their age doing better than them. In addition to this, their parents encourage this to evoke clarity in their thought process of what they want to achieve as they grow up. For example, when I took my 3-year-old niece to a pool for the first time, she observed that many of her counterparts were able to swim with ease. This got her excited and she wanted to learn swimming thereafter. In another instance, my 8-year-old nephew was highly motivated seeing one of his friends winning a science quiz at his school and thereafter, he started developing an immense amount of interest in a wide range of topics related to science. Thus, the ability to acquire a skillset and develop a clear vision early on in their lives are the key takeaways, when children are encouraged by their wards to compete against each other. On the other hand, by pegging their offspring against each other, parents tend to exert mental stress on them. Moreover, a child might not be able to enjoy his childhood when he / she is constantly being compared to others. For instance, due to societal pressure, many adolescents are forced to prepare for a career in engineering right from the age of 10. As a result, they are exposed to concepts that are beyond their comprehension and eventually, they feel burnt out. In another instance, my cousin brother who was differently-abled, was not able to play and socialize with his peers since he was constantly compared with them who were far more intelligent than him. Hence, teenagers are often subjected to anxiety and they tend to miss out on enjoying their childhood when constantly compared to their counterparts. To conclude, young minds are constantly being evaluated with their peers by their elders and their teachers alike. This essay highlighted the 2 main benefits of this approach which includes picking up skillsets and developing a clear thought process right from a very young age. This essay also focussed on the drawbacks of this modus operandi which are twofold: subjection to constant stress and not allowing a child to enjoy his childhood the way he / she wants to.