In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? why do you think some people might no be happy to give up using cash

It is undeniable that cashless payments will become the main mode for transactions in purchasing goods and services in the future. I strongly believe that this will happen one day because not only it reduce the operating costs of the shops but also will help to reduce theft happening in stores. In other words, having cash in shops means, the management has to become extra cautious about protecting the safes and cash registers in the premises. This involves spending on security personnel and systems which usually takes 40% of the operations budget in a store. For example, a pilot project has been initiated in a supermarket in Singapore, where they accept payment from cards and phones. This has proven to be successful as they have managed to reduce the operating cost by 30% as well and no incidents of theft have been reported so far. Therefore, it is highly predictable that this will become a major trend in the future. Although this might bring advantages to the owners, some individuals may get reluctant to give up using cash due to various reasons. Firstly, some may not trust the technology to solely depend on electronic or card transactions. In other words, as all the financial information is exposed to the banks and financial institutions, people may feel that their privacy will be exposed. Secondly, the chances of getting phones and cards stolen are high in such an environment. That is to say, if a person's phone gets stolen, there is a risk of losing money in a few seconds. For example, a year ago my phone got stolen, and in the next instant someone was using my credit card and I lost over $ 5000 within a few hours. This clearly shows the reasons why would someone hesitate to give up cash. In conclusion, in the future all payments will likely be cashless but some may hesitate to adapt to this trend due to a lack of trust in the technology.